Skip to content ↓

Leighton Primary School


Aims for the Governing body

There are three core functions of a school’s governing body.

  • Setting vision, ethos and strategic direction, engaging stakeholders, and ensuring statutory duties are met;
  • Holding Headteachers to account for teaching, achievement, behaviour and safety; challenging and strengthening leadership; contributing to school self-evaluation
  • Ensuring financial solvency and probity with effective management of financial resources, including the Pupil Premium, to raise standards.

They are also responsible for specific actions such as ensuring that there is a procedure in place for handling complaints; approving the school budget; and appointing the Headteacher.

At Leighton Primary School, our Governing body is made up of the following roles:

The Headteacher

  1. Staff Governor (elected)
  2. Local Authority Governor
  3. Parent Governors
  4. Co-opted Governors

Total of 10 Governors plus 2 associates.

Introducing Our Governing Body

Chair of Governors

Mr David Farrelly


Mrs Hayley Sutton

Deputy Headteacher /Associate Governor

Mrs Clare Gray

Assistant Headteacher/Associate Governor

Mrs Julie Aubert (Curriculum Committee only)

Vice Chair of Governors/Finance Governor

Mr Geoff Johnson

Local Authority Governor


Co-opted Governor

Mrs Charlotte Neville

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Adriana Altamiron

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Krishna Shah

Parent Governor

Mrs Sadie Magee


Gemma Johnson


Roy Gilmore


Mrs Laura Corcoran