Skip to content ↓

Leighton Primary School


Parent Governor Election - Results
Following the Parent Governor Election which took place at the end of last term the votes have been counted and the results are as follows

Matthew Driscoll - 71 votes
Carol Clarke - 46 votes
Donna Parnell - 42 votes
Louise James - 26 votes
Andrew Symonds - 23 votes

We would like to Congratulate Matthew Driscoll and Carol Clarke on being elected as our new Parent Governors.

Thank you to all of the parents who returned their votes.


Aims for the Governing body

There are three core functions of a school’s governing body.

  • Setting vision, ethos and strategic direction, engaging stakeholders, and ensuring statutory duties are met;
  • Holding Headteachers to account for teaching, achievement, behaviour and safety; challenging and strengthening leadership; contributing to school self-evaluation
  • Ensuring financial solvency and probity with effective management of financial resources, including the Pupil Premium, to raise standards.

They are also responsible for specific actions such as ensuring that there is a procedure in place for handling complaints; approving the school budget; and appointing the Headteacher.

At Leighton Primary School, our Governing body is made up of the following roles:

The Headteacher

  1. Staff Governor (elected)
  2. Local Authority Governor
  3. Parent Governors
  4. Co-opted Governors

Total of 10 Governors plus 1 associate.

Introducing Our Governing Body

Chair of Governors

Chair of Pre-School Committee

HT appraisal

Mr Andrew Symonds


Mrs Emma Ward

Deputy Headteacher /Co-opted Governor

Mrs Clare Gray

Vice Chair of Governors

Finance, premises and personnel committee chair

HT appraisal Chair

Mr Geoff Johnson

Authority Governor

Heather Skidsted 

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Charlotte Neville

Staff Governor


Associate Governor

Marcus Cowles

 Parent Governor Matthe Druscoll
 Parent Governor Carol Clark


Mrs Laura Corcoran